Canada’s Diverse Histories

November 5-6, 2010 – Toronto, ON

Building on six successful biennial national conferences on teaching Canada’s history, the Association for Canadian Studies (ACS) in collaboration with The Ontario Social History and Social Sciences Teachers’ Association (OHASSTA), will be holding the 7th such national conference entitled "Canada’s Diverse Histories" November 5-6, 2010 at the Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport Hotel, 970 Dixon Road, Toronto, Ontario. ________________________________ The 2010 edition of the event on the teaching, learning and communication of the history of Canada will address diversity in Canadian History, various other important issues and will showcase innovative teaching projects, tools and techniques. There will also be a special focus on the New Ontario History and Social Studies Curriculum. The conference will look at the most effective methods in teaching history, address current issues in communicating history and look at the relevance of history in our daily lives. Toronto 2010 will bring together teachers from across Ontario and the rest of Canada, as well as many of Canada’s leading academics, researchers and representatives from museums, archives, government, non-governmental organizations and media. We expect 400-500 delegates to attend. The conference will have over 70 plenary, panel, workshop and other special sessions. Over 50 national, regional and local organizations have been involved as partners, sponsors and exhibitors in past editions of this conference and several will be present Toronto in 2010. They include government departments and agencies, history organizations, museums, media outlets and many more. A few of the over 100 individuals on the program include:
  • The Hon. James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages
  • Eva Aariak, Premier of Nunavut
  • Clément Chartier, President, Métis National Council
  • Jean Augustine, Fairness Commissioner of Ontario
  • Professor Desmond Morton, McGill University
  • Over 40 workshop sessions hosted by teachers from across Ontario and Canada including winners of the Governor General award for Excellence in Teaching
  • Professor Ruth Sandwell, OISE - University of Toronto
  • Professor Christian Laville, Université Laval
  • Larry Ostolla, Director General, National Historic Sites, Parks Canada
  • Maurice Basque, Director of Études acadiennes, l’Université de Moncton
  • Professor Stéphane Levesque, University of Ottawa
  • Hector Mackenzie, Senior Historian, Foreign affairs and International Trade Canada
  • Jack Jedwab, Executive Director, Association for Canadian Studies
  • Jan Haskings-Winner, OISE - University of Toronto
  • Professor Susan Neylan, Wilfrid Laurier University
  • Professor Gail Brant, University of Waterloo
To register and for additional information visit or contact James Ondrick at the Association for Canadian Studies Tel (514) 925-3097, e-mail: